The FHC Community Education Foundation (CEF) has announced the recipients of Spring 2017 scholarships. The awards will benefit students attending institutions across the country, including Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina.

In addition to the traditional scholarships awarded to applicants, this spring the CEF also selected a recipient for the first Brian Carter Memorial Scholarship.  This scholarship commemorates some of the life interests of longtime friend and associate, Brian Carter.  Donated by an FHCer, this $500 award is presented to a deserving student pursuing studies in one of the following areas: photography, machine tool techniques, conservation or wildlife studies, music, or aviation.  This year’s scholarship was awarded to Allison Melcher.

A full list of scholarship recipients, as well as their hometowns, appears below:

  • Chandler Dundas, Bath, ME
  • Kayla Henry, Ellwood City, PA
  • Jason Hill, Scarborough, ME
  • Amanda MacDonald, Brunswick, ME
  • Alison MacKay, Littleton, NH
  • Allison Melcher, Bowdoin, ME
  • Lindsay Morong, Freedom, ME
  • Joshua Osgood, Greenwich, RI
  • Kristen Patterson, Corvallis, OR
  • Miranda Reesman, Vandergrift, PA
  • Courtney Smith, Brunswick, ME
  • Anna Wilson, Bowdoin, ME


Applicants who are interested in applying for a Fall 2017 scholarship are encouraged to visit the CEF Scholarship Page after July 1, 2017.